Quelle horreur – is that an iframe?

Screen Shot 2014-09-17 at 5.40.50 PM

Aside from the kicky name,  I found it strange that Google Drive couldn’t detect that I had (accidentally) logged into my gmail twice and had the same g.drive document open. How is it possible that a document only accessible via Google could not automatically detect the user? Then, I realized that something else I really love about g.drive documents, the ability to embed them on other sites (including this one!), is probably available because drive documents is an iframe.  Can someone confirm this?

On a similar, iframes make me sad note, I’m wondering if there is a way to fully incorporate/widget-ize a survey tool like SurveyMonkey or Qualtrics into an existing product without using an iframe? Using an iframe survey tool makes it impossible to detect whether a user has actually completed a survey and to provide the appropriate “warm” or “cool” state the next time they log in. My Director of Engineering very wisely pointed out that unless that a third party tool can detect successful completion of survey, our product would have to create its own survey infrastructure. (I guess this means our survey has been slotted for the “next sprint.”)

Leave a Reply

